THE PLACE I WOULD NEVER LIKE TO VISIT

THE PLACE I WOULD NEVER LIKE TO VISIT

There is one place in the world ….wait, is it in the world? Hmmm, yes I suppose so. Well there is this place, where, to put it mildly, I would be thrilled never having to visit ever again. Yes, I have visited this place before, and a number of times at that. In fact, I have been there more times than I remember or can count. And no doubt, will do so as many times again. Why, you wonder, do I do this if I hate it as much as I claim? Am I a masochist? Well, in that case, so are you. Because, you have in all probability visited this place as often as I have, maybe oftener, and will continue to do so, all the time hating it as much as I do.

The answer is simple. Neither you, nor I, visit this place of our own violation. We are transported there unwillingly. In fact we are dragged there in an unconscious state.

Let me describe the place. It is amorphous, ubiquitous, ephemeral, and chimerical. Physically it is very close to us. In fact it is attached to us. It is part of our very being. It is a collection of cells and transmitters holding gigabytes of data and transmitting electrical impulses. But it manifests itself in forms that are; well, quite out of this world. Every visit it has a new form. Often they are similar to places visited before, but never quite the same. At times it is a familiar setting, maybe our home or workplace or someplace visited by us on happier occasions. But then things start going haywire and I start screaming to leave the place. And leave I do, as do you, often disoriented and covered in sweat. Sometimes it is an empty space through which I keep falling till I scream and return to my safe comfort zone. That is the only good thing about this place, we always do return. At least, so far I have, touch wood.

The funny part is, I never know when I am going there next. There are some pointers of course, like after dining not wisely but too well; or before examinations, evaluations, deadlines, interviews with prospective fathers in law or sons in law; or other such stressful times. But there are no fixed rules, and you can always count on the surprise element. Sometimes you have company. It could be people we know or creatures yet to be discovered by science or fantasy.

The place is, as you all have realized by now,( or in case you haven’t, you lucky bum, you have very little blood in your alcohol stream as you read this, and will no doubt visit there tonight) the land of the nightmares. Here’s to hoping I don’t have to visit tonight

http://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/asset-viewer/tiger-in-the-moonlit-night/0QGQZVOO2-ia0w?hl=en

Written for a prompt- place I would never like to visit   http://wepostdaily.wordpress.com/   for project 365

Categories: Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments

    1. lucky you. the alcohol must be of the highest quality.but i am sure you must have visited sometimes, unless you are brilliant in exams, have an angel for a boss, your father in law loves you and you have no children and an excellent digestion

      On Mon, Mar 3, 2014 at 10:17 PM, Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow wrote:

      >

      Like

      1. Way back in the past, maybe! NOW I do not have exams, do not work so have no boss, am not married so no Father-in-law or children and my digestion is quite decent 🙂 (Am prone to acidity though BUT THAT keeps me awake and you need to sleep first to go to THAT place 🙂

        Like

    2. thank you boss, may you never visit here.pl share it if you like it 🙂

      On Mon, Mar 3, 2014 at 10:28 PM, soumya mukherjee wrote:

      > lucky you. the alcohol must be of the highest quality.but i am sure you > must have visited sometimes, unless you are brilliant in exams, have an > angel for a boss, your father in law loves you and you have no children and > an excellent digestion > > > On Mon, Mar 3, 2014 at 10:17 PM, Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote: > >>

      Like

Your feedback is valuable, let me have it!