RSS

HOW DO I UNWIND — AN ODE TO WODEHOUSE

30 Nov

How do I unwind        An Ode to Wodehouse

In response to a prompt on project 365

After a horribly hectic day

(The stuff we do to earn our pay!)

When the minds quite boggled out

And all good cheer’s quite up the spout

The milk of human kindness has

Quite curdled up, and in a flash

I might go up, in flames and smoke

I get some help, from a quiet bloke

He shimmers in, and calms my mind

Perks up my mood, helps me unwind

And takes me to a Wonder land

That doesn’t change or age or wan

In this world stout butlers butt

And men in spats try out the Putt

Where Lords keep pigs, which are their bane

And Aunts aren’t all Gentlemen

Where every problems solution

Is the Gentleman’s personal Gentleman

Whenever the world looks glum

To cheer you up, there’s always Plum

Escape into his magic land

Where words cast spells, and Puns abound

But first get into something loose

Throw out the tie, kick off the shoes

A frothing mug, a cup that cheers

Put up your feet, forget your peers

And Ring for Jeeves, he’ll take you there

Let guffaws thunder everywhere

JEEVES AND BERTIEJEEVES

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “HOW DO I UNWIND — AN ODE TO WODEHOUSE

  1. Jyoti Arora

    November 30, 2014 at 4:55 pm

    hmm, maybe I should give Wodehouse another chance. I tried reading one of his books a couple of years ago. But got bored.

    Like

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      November 30, 2014 at 5:00 pm

      I picked him in my preteens & 4 decades later re reading him is such a pleasure. Both my kids & are addicted too :D. My wifes less crazy but Plum helped her agree to marry me 😀
      Sent on my BlackBerry® from Vodafone

      Like

       
  2. ashokbhatia

    November 30, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    A real juicy composition. Deserves to be published in Milady’s Boudoir, though I am not aware if Uncle Tom is still supporting it.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      December 1, 2014 at 5:55 am

      Thank you kind Sir. We will get Jeeves to arrange that. It will indeed be an honour

      On Sun, Nov 30, 2014 at 11:55 PM, Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow wrote:

      >

      Like

       
  3. vishalbheeroo

    November 30, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    A funny-licious tribute to PG Wodehouse. He must be doing the dance of envy in his grave:)

    Like

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      December 1, 2014 at 5:56 am

      Thank you Vishal. Plum was my inspiration to write since my schooldays

      On Mon, Dec 1, 2014 at 2:37 AM, Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow wrote:

      >

      Like

       
  4. Sukanya

    December 1, 2014 at 7:45 am

    Plum would have been most gratified that all his hard work of generating laughter continues through his fans.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Orchid

    December 5, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    P G Wodehouse is class apart! A very beautiful ode to the great writer! very well written!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      December 7, 2014 at 12:33 pm

      Thank you Orchid. Been a rabid fan since preteens 😀
      Sent on my BlackBerry® from Vodafone

      Like

       
  6. Lakshmi

    January 20, 2015 at 5:31 am

    Hey! I loved that…Most effective description of The Wodehouse Effect….Would like to read more of your words…

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      January 20, 2015 at 9:43 am

      how wonderful Laxmi. Please do. I desperately need readers. See Desperately seeking readers :D..I recommend Made for each other- my only piece my wife liked;, Not so funny- the one liked by Honoria Glossop;, Growing up- the most popular till date, ;Custodian – the one selected for an Anthology; and Getting married, -my personal favourite. Would love feedback

      On Tue, Jan 20, 2015 at 11:01 AM, Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow wrote:

      >

      Like

       
  7. Lisa Lypowy

    February 16, 2015 at 4:30 pm

    Your lines of verse had wit and cheer, Plum would have smiled from ear to ear!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Hanna Myer

    May 27, 2015 at 4:45 am

    I was delighted to give my brains a Vee bit of a break and land up in the dream filled Wonderland,very engrossing and look forward to many more such diversionary attractions!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. Anonymous

    February 16, 2016 at 5:17 pm

    very well written Sir! Had read PG Wodehouse long back. Brought back all old memories

    Liked by 1 person

     

Your feedback is valuable, let me have it!

 
