RSS

THE UNIQUE SATYANARAIN

06 Oct

The Unique Satyanarain

Traditionally, offices in the government sector in our secular country do not observe any religious ceremony of any faith.

This is largely followed in the Eastern sector, where cultural functions take their place, and our National Poet’s anniversary is celebrated with religious fervor. During my tenure there, I presided over the function quite gleefully in my capacity as head of office, as my literary accomplishments would never have got me this honour.

In North India, new offices are opened with a Puja, and on Diwali some offices perform Puja too, but being atheist by persuasion, I followed the shun ceremony guideline, replacing them by a party instead

But in Western India, I found that each office performs an elaborate Satyanarain Puja each year, the cost not being borne by the organization in deference to our secular guidelines, and the custom was too deeply entrenched to be questioned. I therefore, suppressed my misgivings and attended these ceremonies

Recently while touring Goa, my visit coincided with this ceremony in our South Goa office. This irritated me, as Goa being part of my territory; I was obliged to attend, and resented the waste of half a working day. What I learnt however completely changed my perspective.

The event starts at the Parish Church. Yes, you have heard it right. South Goa is predominantly Catholic, and the Church and Parish priest is a focal point of the local community. The readings at the morning mass that day are done by Hindu employees, who also lead the prayers, and the hymns are sung by a Hindu choir, who had been practicing this for the past few weeks. Then the action shifts to the office, where everyone including the Catholic priest witnesses the Puja and share the prashad. A grand lunch then is enjoyed by all in true Goan spirit, but san the spirits. This perfect cohabitation of faiths moved me. I am sure the patron Saint of the local church would be overjoyed in receiving obeisance from the descendents of those souls which the Portuguese swords could not gather, and Satyanarayan would be happy to welcome back and share his blessings to those of his flock who had shifted their allegiance to the newer institution from across the seas

I understood that secularism Goan style means not being allergic to religion but not being allergic to any religion.

Shri_Mangeshi_Temple,_Goagoan church

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “THE UNIQUE SATYANARAIN

  1. neelam

    October 6, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    That’s so good..respecting other religions..
    Secularism at its best. .

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      October 6, 2014 at 5:49 pm

      yes Neelam, that is the Indian tradition

      On Mon, Oct 6, 2014 at 10:56 PM, Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow wrote:

      >

      Like

       
  2. CA. Saurabh Gupta

    October 7, 2014 at 5:28 am

    I also find it strange but surprisingly good to understand this blend of religion. A true exhibition of secularism.
    Wish this could spread PAN India.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      October 7, 2014 at 8:13 am

      This is our tradition. We seem to have forgotten it
      Sent on my BlackBerry® from Vodafone

      Like

       
  3. ashokbhatia

    October 7, 2014 at 7:38 am

    Well said!

    Like

     
  4. One

    November 29, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    Like

     

Your feedback is valuable, let me have it!

 
