RSS
Aside
01 Jul

THE ROAD LESS TRAVELED

In response to a prompt on project 365, as a guest author for July

I am to discuss a vital decision I took in my life, and what could have happened if I had decided differentlyImage

wepostdaily.wordpress.com

The most momentous decision of my life was what my friends call the only good decision I have taken . It involved convincing a petite accountant against her better judgment to defy her family and friends in plying her troth with an unsuitable boy from an alien culture. The said alien of course was yours truly, and we avoided the family objections by the masterly if simple stratagem of getting the certificate first, and informing them later.

This led to a complete turnaround in my life. An irresponsible bohemian was tamed and became a responsible family man and wage earner. My employers too showed confidence in my  new sober avatar and gave me greater responsibilities, which led to a career path that would have never happened to the old me, and led me to become a respectable member of the senior management.

But what if this had not happened? At that point of time, I had plans with my friend from my hitchhiking days of working my way as a deckhand on a ship from Bombay to Basra, then hop over to Europe, work in cafes while travelling the continent, work my passage over to USA, then travel down to South America.

Matrimony, responsibility, elevation in job which came with perks like a car and a flat at that tender age of twenty- five came in the way, and my friend continued this adventure alone, complaining bitterly of betrayal and my choice of *** over bros. His occasional letters from exotic locations had me wondering….. What if?

What if I had decided differently, not given in to impulse, and instead given in to family pressures of accepted behavior?

My life would have taken a totally different turn. Unfettered by any ties, I would have deserted my job and joined my friend in his adventures. And my wife would have married the man her father had selected and led a life of domesticity.

I can see myself, in tattered jeans and Kurta, long tangle of hair and beard, unwashed since the last stay at some YMCA, doing menial jobs at random locations across the globe. My mind would have been mildly addled by then through constant experiments with mind altering substances. The frequent brushes with the law would have made me a wary creature, andinhabiting sundry communes and sqats would have made me tough. I would be an international citizen, although habiting the fringes of society, and a polyglot from having lived amongst so many cultures and so many languages.

Having floated around the world, I would have washed up in that haven where the flotsam of the world tend to congregate, (and where my old comrade currently resides) – in Amsterdam.

Living on my wits I would be falling back on the vocation of many of my countrymen, that of a fake Guru or Seer. I would be there in my stall on the waterfront, in the regulation saffron, hair and beard in braids, telling fortunes and dispensing wisdom. Then suddenly I would spot my petite accountant, corpulent now, on her family vacation, with a harassed looking hubby and couple of brats in tow, forcing herself to enjoy it all.

I would call out, and correctly speak of her past, impressing onlookers, and tell her that her life would have been quite different if she had not been such a dutiful daughter, all those long years ago.

And maybe encouraged her to make a  clean break and live it up with a wild Yogi, as it’s never too late to discover oneself……?

 

 

The Road Less Travelled — What If?

 

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “The Road Less Travelled — What If?

  1. beloome

    July 2, 2014 at 2:55 am

    Aah yes…it can be fun to go down this path of fantasy, What if….But as you suggest at the end of your post, perhaps those who are destined to meet on this life journey would have met anyway 🙂

    Like

     
  2. Sakshi Nanda

    July 4, 2014 at 9:52 am

    I am glad you did not pick up the ‘vocation of many of my countrymen’ as your own. That you picked *** over bros, and a neat peppered flock of hair over dreadlocks-of-the-guru. For if you had, I would not have got this to read. And many such from you. Or maybe, you would have been a travel writer by now?
    Personal musing written so well, a treat it was to read!

    Like

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      July 4, 2014 at 10:37 am

      Thank you Sakshi. :D. This warms my heart. And I completely agree. Bohemian life is scary after an age. Incidentally that friend skipped wanderers life for family life after a while. Although that didn’t last he’s now a responsible single parent bringing up a daughter
      Sent on my BlackBerry® from Vodafone

      Like

       
  3. ships

    July 5, 2014 at 5:39 am

    Only some dare to be different, the rest fall in line with what is considered ‘normal’ by societal standards. But I am just wondering that even though your friend may not have it ‘perfect’ but her definitely has it ‘rich’. 🙂

    Like

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      July 5, 2014 at 9:37 am

      🙂 I rebelled a bit then the rebellion became the settled life, & didnt really regret it ever. The more rebellious friend regretted it later & tried settled life, and is adjusted to it now

      Like

       
  4. ships

    July 5, 2014 at 5:40 am

    Only some dare to be different, the rest fall in line with what is considered ‘normal’ by societal standards. But I am just wondering that even though your friend may not have it ‘perfect’ but her definitely has it ‘rich’. 🙂

    Like

     
  5. Vikramkr

    July 5, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Have you not grown old by a day since yesterday. Can you change that? We think we can alter the course of events & fail to understand the changes that are taking place in our lives & their impact on our tomorrow.

    Like

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      July 5, 2014 at 11:15 am

      yes, this is just wild fantasy Vikram, a pure exercise in imagination, & trying to be funny

      On Sat, Jul 5, 2014 at 4:40 PM, Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow wrote:

      >

      Like

       
  6. skinnyuz2b

    July 5, 2014 at 11:20 am

    You’re absolutely right when you say that we’re never too old to discover ourselves. In fact, we are constantly doing just that, because we are constantly changing. I’m so glad you seem to have taken the best path for you!

    Like

     
  7. bakka shravya

    March 4, 2015 at 9:13 am

    In this saga, there have been two rescues.
    Self and wife!!
    The best kind of happy ending….

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      March 5, 2015 at 10:54 am

      didn’t think of it like that, but yes you are right 🙂

      On Wed, Mar 4, 2015 at 2:43 PM, Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow wrote:

      >

      Like

       

Your feedback is valuable, let me have it!

 
