RSS

THE PERILS OF READING

27 Mar

readingTHE PERILS OF READING

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152057374738212&set=a.267207048211.141014.81388598211&type=1

In my childhood I had been afflicted with a literate babysitter who kept me entertained and killed boredom by reading aloud to me. The choice of reading matter was not restricted to children’s fare, but anything available at home in the vernacular. As a result I was exposed to the classics and epics and translations of major foreign works, which I could not comprehend, but enjoyed the resonance of words. Both my parents being avid readers, there were plenty of books available at home, and we never ran short of reading material. I sometimes repeated lines heard from these books in adult company, which gave rise to speculation that I was either a child prodigy, or had memories of past lives.

Starting kindergarten and my spectacular lack of success there soon laid rest to such speculation. But despite my poor form in school, the one skill I picked up fast was learning to read. And read I did, avidly, without discrimination, often without understanding, and frequently inappropriate material.

The net result was poor grades, poor eyesight, poor posture, poor health and a precocious temperament.

As I grew older my addiction came to the notice of authority figures. I got sent to the principal for reading fiction in class hidden in texts. The same camouflage worked at home though, as long as I could intercept the letters to my parents issued by school and forge signatures on my diary. But they did catch on to some extent as certain books started disappearing from the bookshelves to be kept discreetly in my parents’ bedroom. This actually was a good guide as to what to read. While in junior school, the library restricted our borrowings to one book per week, so I started picking up digests, anthologies and books by the girth rather than subject or author. Our neighborhood lending libraries augmented this with more discerning matter.

Our moving to a new locality and moving to senior school had a moderating effect, as I had access to a swimming pool, playing fields, bigger libraries and  better teachers. I started outdoor games with enthusiasm, my grades improved, I started editing a” little magazine”, started writing, and chose what I read according to my developing tastes in literature.

The next stage was college. The incredible collection of the University library was disastrous to the addict. Combined with the freedom of the hostel, the additional lure of world cinema through the cine clubs, I practically dropped out of classes. Other attractions were the second hand book bazaars, introduction to spirits that uplift the spirit, and expanding the limits of the mind not only through the printed word, but through additional herbal and chemical aids. I became an early version of today’s net junkie, who forgets to eat sleep and work. I was the print junkie.

The outcome was predictable; Disastrous results, threats of expulsion for lack of attendance and severe weight loss. I badly needed detoxification.

This came in the form of the benevolent government, who provided employment to young people with no useful skills but with a fund of useless knowledge, and an ability to tick the right boxes in MCQs meant to test your IQ, vocabulary and knowledge of trivia. Thus I was gainfully employed and thrown in an environment where literacy, although not unheard of, was definitely frowned upon.

Therefore, when I came across a colleague who had similar proclivities, we promptly got married. Our children inherited the vice, and our home began to look like one of those second hand bookshops we loved to forage in. Shifting home became a major exercise in logistics moving the pile of printed matter in a forest of cartons.

Years later, at a conference, a colleague explained the clinical side of my addiction. He was miffed at my unsocial behavior of carrying books during the journey and in the resort. Reading such fat tomes, he concluded, makes the mind dull and lethargic.

I have since then tried to keep my shameful secret well hidden from my work colleagues.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “THE PERILS OF READING

  1. Sakshi Nanda

    March 27, 2014 at 10:18 am

    Great piece! Sharing it on FB!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. S(t)ri

    March 27, 2014 at 10:24 am

    a different and intriguing post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. chayanika

    March 27, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    Hi,
    First i would like to say that it was nice work which Sakshi Nanda(who besides being an avid reader is an excellent writer ) shared with me

    I can relate to what you have put across..trust me you it is one of the rare addictions..

    Carry on reading and writing but take out sometime for your self n family…HEY WHY NOT READING SOMETHING ON LIFE BALANCE

    GOOD LUCK

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      March 27, 2014 at 3:41 pm

      Thanx. :)Actually I’m also into trekking rafting travelling & other passions. Please read my other posts if you liked this. You may enjoy them
      Sent on my BlackBerry® from Vodafone

      Like

       
  4. chsuresh63

    March 27, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    Hahaha! Soumya – but for your forays into jockdom and matrimony it could have been the story of MY life. can you imagine reading Tolstoy when in Class 3 because you had Oesnophilia and could not be allowed out to play in the rains and, since Russian books were the cheapest available in those days, you got a stack of them to sit with instead. THAT set off my addiction which NEVER wandered off into playing fields and the like EVER! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      March 27, 2014 at 4:15 pm

      Thanx Suresh :)Actually the jock days were more enthusiasm than expertise which is true of the adventure sports I’m into now but reading has remained the 1st love
      Sent on my BlackBerry® from Vodafone

      Like

       
  5. vishalbheeroo

    March 27, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    The post taste like absolute vodka…love it and there was a time where I lapped up, everything the satisfaction of reading any thing wo much comprehension…love it:)

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. TheLastWord

    March 27, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    Good grief! I’m always amazed at how similar we are. Except that my addiction started when we moved to Calcutta at the height of the Naxal “revolution” and I was thus not allowed to go out. My father’s library, varied and large, became my refuge.

    Check these two different posts out, that talk about this aspect of my life.
    http://sloword.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/authors-i-have-read-and-loved/
    and
    http://sloword.wordpress.com/2012/11/20/10-10-1985/

    I think the only other difference was that I did have some pretensions of jockdom, pretending to play league cricket till about 2009, when I chipped yet another bone due to my failing eyesight and was given an ultimatum by my Beloved Bangalan.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      March 30, 2014 at 4:40 pm

      This addiction ruined many things for me Ajesh, but helped me get over the other herbal and chemical addictions I had aquired enroute

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. purbaray

    March 31, 2014 at 7:34 am

    Rather have a dull lethargic mind than engage in inane conversations.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      March 31, 2014 at 9:21 am

      Inane conversations are known as networking & my subscribing to your views has led me to be labelled a snob
      Sent on my BlackBerry® from Vodafone

      Like

       
  8. Anonymous

    June 24, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    Don’t tell me that all your readings have actually made you a wise guy – East or North or West – or wherever … !

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      June 25, 2014 at 8:22 am

      It hasn’t made me wise. Only fit to make wisecracks
      Sent on my BlackBerry® from Vodafone

      Like

       
  9. PN

    December 1, 2014 at 12:39 pm

    Reblogged this on The Romantic Realist and commented:
    Loved this write-up. So well written, and in that particular Wodehouse style that I much admire!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  10. ashokbhatia

    December 1, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    Congratulations – one might as well propose your name for the Vice President of the Voracious Readers’ Society (if any). Unlike other afflictions, though, this is one which no one is keen on getting cured of.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      December 2, 2014 at 11:24 am

      thank you Sir, I will gladly accept the position. It will be an honour to accept it from you, Mr President sir

      On Mon, Dec 1, 2014 at 11:03 PM, Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow wrote:

      >

      Like

       
  11. wiseguy from the east

    March 4, 2015 at 11:02 am

    Reblogged this on Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow and commented:

    its still dangerous

    Like

     

Your feedback is valuable, let me have it!

 
