RSS

BOYS DONT CRY

02 Feb

crying manBOYS DON’T CRY

This is one maxim that made life difficult for me. Long before it was macho and cool for men to be in touch with their emotions and not being afraid to show sensitivity, I had the unfortunate predicament of being ahead of times. I cried watching films.

Not all films mind you. I did not cry at Laurel and Hardy films. But Charlie Chaplin was another matter. Action films left me dry eyed. But not if they were action packed patriotic war movies. Ditto, action films to do with martyrs in the freedom struggle. These made me cry buckets. As did the first Hindi film I saw, ‘Haathi mere Saathi’. Anand left me cold, but Fiddler on the roof was a three hankie film, even before I had daughters of my own and identified with poor Topol.

This was my shameful secret. AND IT HAD TO STAY THIS WAY! If not quite my life, but my reputation and my young manhood depended on it.

Cinema halls being dark, it kept a veil on this Achilles heel and no one suspected that the sniveling could be coming from the irreverent comedian which was my public persona. Add the fact that my spectacles and frequent colds I pretended to suffer from hid the symptoms of my shame from the casual eye, and I was as successful in keeping this alter ego a dark secret as successfully as Dr Jekyll.

Books were another matter. I was addicted to the printed word and spent every bit of free time, in public transport and communal spaces as well, stuck in books. I would completely lose all sense of space time continuum when in the throes of this narcotic world, and would often laugh out loud or exclaim audibly. Giggles were frequent. Now, while laughing aloud while reading is tolerated as eccentricity, with mild censure, and even giggling attracted bearable amounts of hazing, sniveling would have spelled a death knell.  My tastes did not run to soppy stuff, and tearjerkers made me laugh, so one would think that there was no danger of disclosure, but no, not quite. You see, what got my tear ducts running were stories of triumph against odds, the little guy winning, the new kid scoring the winning goal, the 1911 Mohanbgan victory in the IFA shield in a real life Lagaan scenario and similar stories of heroism and success. I used camouflage in the form of loud laughter or eye irritation as a cover up.

But you can go only so far in covering up an overactive lachrymal gland. Rumours regarding my manhood began to circulate. It was only the fact that I was an enthusiastic sportsperson, had the advantage of a scathing tongue, and a reputation as a scrappy fighter helped me survive those whispers. Not crying in physical pain helped salvage my name somewhat whenever I was beaten up defending my honour against any slur of emotionalism.

It was years later that I could openly cry with my daughters watching Lion King or Chak De India.

One would expect that this albatross around my neck would come to my rescue one day when I really needed the relief of letting the tears flow and the howls rise to wash away my anguish and unburden my soul when something actually affected me in real life. But like Karna’s knowledge, the bitch deserted me at my moment of trial.

I was keeping vigil in the loneliest place in the world, the waiting room outside the ICCU. The one person I hero worshipped in childhood, confronted in the arrogance of youth, and grew distant from in the labyrinths of our own lives, the one person who always supported me and was there for me without expectations of reciprocity, who’s debt will forever remain unpaid, was inside, hooked up to a ventilator.

I was called inside and it was explained that there was nothing further to be done, and I had to take the final decision of flipping the switch. I was given a moment alone with the patient. I desperately waited for the welcome release of the warm flood that heals, but nothing came. I was dry eyed and stony faced. I went through the motions of bereavement in automation.

On the one occasion that boys can cry, I couldn’t.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

31 responses to “BOYS DONT CRY

  1. vishalbheeroo

    February 2, 2014 at 10:27 am

    Brilliant post. Who says Men don’t cry? We need to get rid of the stereotypes that binds us in the shackle of a selfish society.
    Cheerz

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. skinnyuz2b

    February 2, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    Oh, this made my eyes tear up. You are simply a beautiful and sensitive individual. Sometimes the pain is so deep that we can’t cry because we are afraid it would never end and would consume us. It stays bottled up and hidden away, until one day it erupts.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. IRSHAD

    February 3, 2014 at 6:21 am

    BOSS, IS THIS A FICTION OR U HAVE TRULY FELT WHAT U HAVE WRITTEN. THE WORDS HAVE BEEN USED TO PERFECTION AND THE WHOLE INCIDENT HAS BEEN NARRATED AS IF TRULY HAPPENNED OR HAS BEEN FACED BY U, PERSONALLY.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      February 3, 2014 at 6:26 am

      True.It was My dad. Articulated in words now but must have been in my subconsious mind

      Like

       
  4. Seeta

    February 3, 2014 at 6:23 am

    This made me cry.. and its true, the pain that hurts the most is usually the one that never evokes tears… there is something too personal about it, any sign that gives it away makes you feel exposed and vulnerable. That pain you want to keep to yourself and more often that not, it lasts forever.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      February 3, 2014 at 7:35 am

      Thank you. Now I will join you. Probably the 1st time I wrote anything serious. Pl check out older posts

      Like

       
  5. Anonymous

    February 3, 2014 at 6:24 am

    You know, I get that totally. I’m exactly the same way.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Yamini Vijendran

    February 3, 2014 at 6:24 am

    That really tugs at my heart… Feelings described so beautifully in just so many words… Nice post Soumya.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      February 3, 2014 at 7:30 am

      Thank you Yamini. Writing tearjerkers is outside my comfort zone. Whatever I try to write turns out to be funny. This was an abberation perhaps as it was heartfelt. Pl check out my older posts

      Like

       
  7. spunkybong

    February 3, 2014 at 10:04 am

    Very heart warming, Soumya, not a tearjerker at all, much more weighty. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Rachna

    February 4, 2014 at 8:59 am

    Touching! Sometimes, I find myself in exactly the same situation where the tears will just not flow especially when the occasion demanded it. I am very ashamed to admit that some movies have moved me to tears too :).

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. Dagny

    February 5, 2014 at 6:54 am

    Sometimes the grief is too deep for expression. You can’t bear to trivialize it by expressing your sorrow. What else could you have done? After all, boys don’t cry.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • wiseguy from the east

      February 5, 2014 at 6:57 am

      Thank you Dagney. You get it

      On Tue, Feb 4, 2014 at 10:54 PM, Idyll Dreams of an Idle Fellow wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Dagny

        February 5, 2014 at 7:03 am

        Yes, I do.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  10. bhaktikhaire

    February 12, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    In the backdrop of research depicting crying as a clue to social attachment, crying by men in the ever hardening world is not much of a concern as much as a humans who denounce it.
    Happy crying fellas.. (no pun intended!)
    This one of the works which I could read uptill the end.. Looking forward for some more insights of yours..

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. Jyoti Arora

    November 30, 2014 at 4:39 pm

    That’s a very beautiful post. Unfortunately, I have a similar problem. The more strongly I feel, the quieter I get.

    Like

     
  12. centeredaroundkids

    June 2, 2015 at 6:21 am

    I love crying. Unlike a boy who is not supposed to cry, a girl can. And I love crying. Movies, books, spicy food… et all. but when I saw my father’s lifeless body on the ice I didn’t cry. When I saw him going up in flames I felt nothing. I know what you mean. The shock is so much that feelings desert you. I was as stony cold as he was. I lost my pillar. I lost my hero…. I’m crying again….

    Liked by 1 person

     
  13. Samita. Basu

    June 10, 2015 at 5:44 pm

    boys don’t cry….true. But few boys who grow up to be a real man…do not hesitate to shed tears. Your write up , especially towards the end….where you were not able to cry…brought tears to my eye. Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  14. Anonymous

    March 30, 2016 at 3:27 pm

    This evokes bits of me that are somewhat lost but not quite obliterated in the dusts of time. Memories of childhood or bursting into tears for reasons I vouldn’t

    Liked by 1 person

     

Your feedback is valuable, let me have it!

 
